Discover Ukraine. Lecture 2 on 20 April 8 PM (UK)

Our second lecture will take place on 20 April (15:00 Chile; 20:00 London; 21:00 Berlin; 22:00 Kyiv).

Our second speaker is Dr Stephan Rindlisbacher, European University Viadrina (Frankfurt/Oder). His lecture is entitled “The Territory of Ukraine and Its History”

Ukraine’s territory is a product of political decisions that date back to the Soviet Union and the Second World War. This lecture aims to reconstruct these processes of territorial formation in chronological order. First, it will be shown how the creation of Soviet Ukraine in 1919 was no means to “divide and rule”, but a strategy of managing the diversity of Soviet space. Second, the talk explores the territorial gains during and after the Second World War. Finally, the territorial transfer of Crimea from Russia to Ukraine in 1954 is scrutinised in order to deconstruct the popular myth of the transfer to be “Khrushchev’s gift” to Ukraine.

Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/6649748877

Meeting ID: 664 974 8877

We kindly ask you to donate to Razom Emergency Response: https://razomforukraine.org/razom-emergency-response/

Published by sgmhbasees

The BASEES Study Group for Minority History (SGMH) is a forum devoted to the study of minority groups in the national and regional histories of Central, Eastern and Southeastern European from the Napoleonic Wars to the contemporary past.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: