Discover Ukraine. The course begins today (13 April)

The first lecture in our virtual lecture series Discover Ukraine: History, Culture and its People, will take place on 13 April (15:00 Chile; 20:00 London; 21:00 Berlin; 22:00 Kyiv).

Our first speaker is Dr Fabian Baumann, the University of Chicago “Between Empires: Ukraine in the Nineteenth Century”

During the nineteenth century, the territory of Ukraine was split up between two empires, the Habsburg Monarchy and the Russian Empire. The lecture will cover the political history of the region in both empires, with a particular focus on the social and ethnic stratification of its population. Special attention will be given to the emergence of the Ukrainian national movement and to the question of why nineteenth-century intellectuals chose to identify as Ukrainians.
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/6649748877

Meeting ID: 664 974 8877

We kindly ask you do donate to Razom Emergency Response: https://razomforukraine.org/razom-emergency-response/

Published by sgmhbasees

The BASEES Study Group for Minority History (SGMH) is a forum devoted to the study of minority groups in the national and regional histories of Central, Eastern and Southeastern European from the Napoleonic Wars to the contemporary past.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: