New academic announcements from Sunday 28 February

Dear readers, this week on our blog you can find information, among others, about the following new publications:

Dina Danon (2020) The Jews of Ottoman Izmir A Modern History (Stanford University Press) tells the story of a vibrant and substantial Sephardi Jewish community in Izmir, drawing on previously untapped Ladino archival material.

Lecture: Shared Soundscapes: The Legacy of Polish Jews in Music. 14 March (Sunday), 8PM CET/ 2PM EST / 11AM PST / 9PM Israel explores the legacy of Polish Jews in music by focusing on the circumstances that allowed Jewish and Christian musicians to make music together to learn from each other and share repertories and musical languages.

Broadcast live in English on POLIN Museum YouTube channel.

Amacher Korine, Aunoble Éric, Portnov Andrii (2020), Histoire partagée, mémoires divisées: Ukraine, Russie, Pologne examines the entangled history of three neighbouring countries over the centuries.

Elena Marushiakova and Vesselin Popov (eds.) (2021) Roma Voices in History. A Sourcebook This OPEN-ACCESS book is an impressively extensive collection of primary historical sources in various languages that reflect the history of the Roma (formerly referred to as ‘Gypsies’ in local languages).

IMAGINING BOSNIAN MUSLIMS IN CENTRAL EUROPE Representations, Transfers and Exchanges Edited by František Šístek (2021) assembles contributions from historians, anthropologists, political scientists, and literary scholars to examine the political, social, and discursive dimensions of Bosnian Muslims’ encounters with the West since the nineteenth century.

Also you can read about the following academic opportunities:

CfP Russian Germans on Four Continents: Global History and Present. Osnabrück: 10.11.2021 – 10.11.2021. Deadline: 15.04.2021

CfP Histories of Migration: Transatlantic and Global Perspectives OCT 18, 2021 – OCT 21, 2021

Published by sgmhbasees

The BASEES Study Group for Minority History (SGMH) is a forum devoted to the study of minority groups in the national and regional histories of Central, Eastern and Southeastern European from the Napoleonic Wars to the contemporary past.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: